3/10/2017 – The Day Before SAO

I’m probably the last person awake in this house right now. What I’m trying to say is, this isn’t my house. It’s my aunt’s family’s. And I just spent the day hanging out with my cousins.

The older one, who I believe is 12 years old, plays League with me a few times a week. I wouldn’t say that he’s a good player, per se, but I once observed a solo queue game with him on jungle Elise and he very quickly devolved into a cocoon bot while the rest of the team carried.


I noticed something as I brushed my teeth. Their bathroom sink was incredibly dusty. The issue with bathroom dust, especially with bathrooms that have adjacent bathtubs/showers, is the steam. Over time, it causes the dust to coagulate into this unslightly, almost moldy mess of sticky lint. With bits of hair strewn about. And the residue of toothpaste and mouthwash.

That wasn’t all. The mirror was stained with unidentified objects and marks from unknown fluids. The cups had this faint yellow stuff stuck on the bottom. the inside part of the bottom was starting to blacken along the edges.

Once everyone finished brushing their teeth and went to bed, I quietly wiped away as much booger lint, mirror goobers, and stray hairs as I could. Perhaps it was unnecessary in their point of view, as it is their ritual to not care for the cleanliness of the bathroom sink since it has not impacted their health in any significant fashion. But I had to do it to preserve my sanity.


The older cousin also plays the piano. It’s upright piano with a very light touch and an obnoxiously bright tone. As if that wasn’t already enough, the piano’s capacity to reach full aural irritation was compounded by the house’s acoustics, which reverberated almost every noise to an extreme. Additionally, it was piloted by an inexperienced pair of hands that know nothing of subtlety. I heard him play a couple classical pieces from upstairs, and the familiarity of some of those pieces, that I once played when I was a kid, did nothing to improve whatever sounds the instrument wrought on my ears.

To confirm my suspicions, I took an opportunity to sit down and test the keys. Yep. Very loose mechanics, obnoxiously bright tone. I played Schumann’s Traumerei, Debussy’s Arabesque, and Beethoven’s Fur Elise. As much as I tried to play the piano with a sensitive touch, the piano nonetheless misbehaved. Sudden loud notes, notes unplayed due to overcompensating the subtle touch, and ultimately nothing but disappointment. I can understand why my cousin’s playing sounded so bad. He really needs a better piano. Well, if he decides to pursue it beyond middle school, anyways.


I’d honestly rather have these kinds of problems than whatever is going to happen to me tomorrow. The SAO movie, from preliminary Twitter impressions, seems to be a baseline franchise movie that doesn’t break any new ground. I wonder if I should even take notes. But the whole reason I’m in this house right now is because no local theater is showing this movie, and so I’ve taken a 4 hour train ride and crashed at a relative’s house the day before in order to prepare myself properly. As if the preparation was needed in any fashion.

After all these years of suffering, I still don’t know why I do this to myself.

Nothing pleases a blogger more than a bit of feedback.

ATMA & Funomena

Animation talk, music and analysis: Understanding The Spectales of 'Extraordinary' | Presented by a nerd in-training

one of episodes

an eroge and anime blog

dashboardcitizen.com

the thoughts and tales of a college student and writer living out of his car

therefore it is

Some Pretty Thoughts About Anime....

I Have a Heroine Problem

Living Life Heroically and with Style!

Anime Viking

Anime Blog

Too Old for Anime

An anime blog by someone old enough to know better

atelier emily

for me, in full bloom

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

Reverse Thieves

An Anime & Manga Blog & Podcast

Lower Mid-Table

A blog about anime and other things

SatchiiKoma

BokuSatchii's Anime Blog

Chromatic Aberration Everywhere

Distorted views on anime and co.

OGIUE MANIAX

Anime & Manga Blog | 50% Anime Analysis, 50% Ogi

Altair & Vega

Discourse over Distance

