1/7/2017 – Pills

I take 8 pills a day. Tomorrow that will to go up to 9, then a few weeks later that will increase to10, then 11, then possibly more, then possibly fewer. I have two separate pill dispensers for the ones I take in the morning and the ones I take before bed. I refill them every Saturday. That’s today.

Perhaps I would feel a lot better about the sudden amount of daily medication I have to take if I could remember what exactly caused it. Yes, I’m fully aware that it’s because of a seizure I experienced maybe three months ago by now, but that’s a gap in my memory that I’m never getting back. From my point of view, I didn’t even get to experience the cause by which I am taking these pills for.

As for their intended effect, I’m not quite sure how to put it. If my neurologist is accurate with his diagnosis, then I should be experiencing fewer episodes where I involuntarily space out. I’ve always been told that I space out, and I like to think that I’m aware of the times that I space out. 

However, I’m not so sure that I’m aware of it happening anymore. Sometimes my employers would have to call out to me to get my attention even though I was right next to them. I was taken aside once and was specifically told that I would be a good worker if I didn’t space out so much. 

I’ve come to the conclusion that I actually don’t know what happens during an episode, much like the big seizure I had 3 months ago, and it’s apparent that I’m not aware of it happening until after my attention is restored by outside stimulation. That kind of worries me, if I have to be dramatic about it. It has never impacted me whenever I have to be completely and consistently focused on one task, such as driving or performing, but I’ve sat through entire lectures only to retain absolutely nothing. I’ve also apparently been absentminded enough to stand in the middle of foot traffic, like in malls and markets, without realizing it until I’m told to move aside. 

Really, now that I think about it, the only way to test whether the medication works is to put myself in those situations again and see what happens. School is coming back in a few days, so maybe I can get some results then. I wouldn’t know right now, despite being a month into the medication by now, because I’ve been staying at home all day for the holiday season. For safety reasons, as my family puts it. And also because I can’t drive. That kind of puts a damper on things too.

So as the school year starts, I’ll have a much better idea of what this medication is supposed to be doing to my brain, and that’s what legitimately worries me. There a good chance that I’ve lived with this condition my entire academic life without ever knowing about it until now. So, everything I have considered to be normal behavior in how I study, how I focus on work, how I generally behave around people, well, I can’t consider that to be normal anymore. I’m going to change, but I don’t know what that means. I don’t know what it means to be normal anymore.

And it doesn’t help that I’m trying to get my life back on track at the same time. This could also easily be explained as a newfound sense of motivation that changes how I behave in school, now that I’ve truly hit rock bottom and could not possibly get any lower than I am now. Having those two things going on at the same time muddles how I’m supposed to be allocating responsibility. Do I thank my medication for improving my behavior? Or was it all a ruse and I was just in need of a proper push to get to where I am? I want to say that it’s the medication. That would be the most forgiving explanation. 

Now I just have to not feel guilty about it.

2 comments

  1. The spacing out is actually a small seizure itself. I had a friend who had them quite frequently also. You could see her simply go blank. If she was moving, we would run to grab her, because she would simply stop moving and freeze even if she had one foot off the ground. Saw her literally fall over more than once. Before the seizures started she had been a gymnast – a good one. Of course – seizures were the end of that. Like you, she could be brought out of it by a shout or a touch. She told me she had been perfectly normal until one day she was at a house under construction and stepped on a live electrical cord and got a tremendous shock that knocked her out. The seizures began after that.

    There is so much we don’t know about the human brain and how it works and what causes seizures. I will keep you in my thoughts and send healing light. I hope the pills are helping and you are able to resume your pursuit of an education. You have much to overcome – but you are facing it with courage and grace. Blessedbe.

    1. please dont send healing light i need sleep and the light is going to keep me awake through the night and being sleep deprived will trigger more seizures im sure you have good intentions bu-

      My seizures apparently happen several times a day, at random intervals. Sometimes I’m awake when they happen, sometimes I’m asleep. I’m never aware of what occurs during an episode when I’m awake, so I can’t say that I had any inkling or suspicion that something wrong was actually happening. It’s kind of scary, to be honest, that I have a condition in which random episodes happen that I don’t realize is happening until after the fact. I’m sorry for your friend, however, because I believe she has it a lot worse than I do. I don’t recall a time where I’ve completely froze and fallen over. But still, I guess my situation kind of sucks nonetheless. Thanks for the response.

Nothing pleases a blogger more than a bit of feedback.

ATMA & Funomena

Animation talk, music and analysis: Understanding The Spectales of 'Extraordinary' | Presented by a nerd in-training

one of episodes

an eroge and anime blog

dashboardcitizen.com

the thoughts and tales of a college student and writer living out of his car

therefore it is

Some Pretty Thoughts About Anime....

I Have a Heroine Problem

Living Life Heroically and with Style!

Anime Viking

Anime Blog

Too Old for Anime

An anime blog by someone old enough to know better

atelier emily

for me, in full bloom

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

Reverse Thieves

An Anime & Manga Blog & Podcast

Lower Mid-Table

A blog about anime and other things

SatchiiKoma

BokuSatchii's Anime Blog

Chromatic Aberration Everywhere

Distorted views on anime and co.

OGIUE MANIAX

Anime & Manga Blog | 50% Anime Analysis, 50% Ogi

Altair & Vega

Discourse over Distance

